April 21, 2003

KGW leads all Portland television stations with twenty-six Emmy Nominations

Portland, OR -- KGW Northwest NewsChannel 8 has been nominated for twenty-six Emmy Awards, it was announced Saturday night by the Seattle chapter of the National Association of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS). This amount (26) constitutes more nominations than all other Portland-area stations combined (16).

Here are the nominees for this prestigious award in each category:

Best Newscast
"Northwest NewsChannel 8 @ 11" Lisa Helderop, producer

Outstanding Daily News Markets Size 21-80
"Northwest NewsChannel 8 @ 5" KGW News Staff

Best News Anchor
Joe Donlon

Best Weather Anchor
Matt Zaffino

Best Reporter (News)
Randy Neves
Vince Patton

Best Spot News Coverage
"Wildfire" Vince Patton, reporter
Rod Stevens, photojournalist

"Mount Hood Crash" John Becker, reporter
Kurt Austin, photojournalist

"Black Butte Fire" Kelly Love, reporter
Mike Galimanis, photojournalist

Best Live Coverage Breaking News Event
"Mount Hood Rescue and Crash" KGW News Staff

Best General News Story
"A Thieves Paradise" John Flick, reporter
Kurt Austin, photojournalist

Best Feature News Story
"Rachel's Ride" Vince Patton, reporter
Ken McCormick, photojournalist

Best News Series
"Cancer Climb" Stephanie Stricklen, reporter
Ken McCormick, photojournalist

Best News Specialty Reporting
Consumer Reporting Randy Neves
Portland City Hall Reporting Randy Neves
Environmental Reporting Vince Patton

Best News Special
"Tragedy on Mt. Hood" Lisa Helderop, producer
Ray Fanning, executive producer

Best Informational Live Special Event
"Olympic Torch Relay" Ray Fanning, executive producer

Best Photography--Single Story or Series 24 Hours
"Worth Waiting For" Kurt Austin

Best Photography--Single Story or Series No Time Limit
"Motor Scooting Mecca" Kurt Austin

Best Editor-Single Story or Series-24 Hours
"Board Meeting" Alex Lynch, editor

Promo--Series or Campaign--News or Non-News
"Home of the Blazers" David Unitan, writer/producer/editor

Public Service Announcement--Single Spot
"Reach the Beach" Chris Hansen, art director

"Register. Vote. Make History" David Unitan, writer/producer/editor

Public Series Announcement--Series or Campaign
"Register. Vote. Make History" Randy Cobb, writer/producer/editor

Community Service Award
"SOLV Campaign" Rich Brase, executive producer

The Emmy Awards are presented annually by the National Association of Television Arts and Sciences. The Northwest chapter includes markets from Alaska, Montana, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington.

This year, statues will be given out at the 40th Annual Northwest Regional Emmy Awards Presentation on June 21, 2003 at the Bagley Wright Theatre in Seattle.

About KGW
Belo Corp. is one of the nation's largest media companies with a diversified group of market-leading television, newspaper, cable and interactive media assets. A Fortune 1000 company with approximately 7,800 employees and $1.4 billion in annual revenues, Belo operates news and information franchises in some of America's most dynamic markets and regions, including Texas, the Northwest, the Southwest, Rhode Island, and the Mid-Atlantic region. Belo owns 19 television stations (six in the top 16 markets) reaching 13.7 percent of U.S. television households; owns or operates six cable news channels; and manages one television station through a local marketing agreement. Belo publishes four daily newspapers: The Dallas Morning News, The Providence Journal, The Press-Enterprise (Riverside, CA) and the Denton Record-Chronicle (Denton, TX). Belo Interactive's new media businesses include 34 Web sites, several interactive alliances, and a broad range of Internet-based products. For more information, contact Rich Brase, Director of Creative Services, at (503) 226-5103. Additional information, including earnings releases, is available online at www.belo.com.