June 25, 2004

WFAA-TV honored with national Edward R. Murrow Award for Iraq war documentary "War Stories"

Dallas, TX --For the sixth time in the past five years WFAA-TV has been recognized with a prestigious national Edward R. Murrow Award from the Radio-Television News Directors Association.

WFAA was honored with a Murrow for best documentary (large market station) for "War Stories," a one-hour special that aired on WFAA on June 29, 2003.

The locally produced program depicted a side of the Iraq conflict that most Americans had not seen in mainstream reports on the war. It featured rare personal perspective and commentary by the WFAA and The Dallas Morning News journalists working on the front lines. The Dallas-Fort Worth television news leader is among 53 news organizations recognized with 74 awards out of an initial pool of 3,182 entries.

"We are pleased to accept another national Murrow Award," said David Duitch, WFAA vice president/news. "Congratulations to reporter Byron Harris, photographer Doug Burgess, chief director Jerry Cadigan and David Leeson of The Dallas Morning News for their work on "War Stories." Earlier this year "War Stories" won the National Headliner for top documentary. They produced extraordinary journalism and it is great to see them get such national recognition from their peers.

"This award is significant for many reasons, not the least of which is the synergy effort behind the entry," Duitch added. "We utilized the quality work of Byron and Doug, as well as the Pulitzer Prize winning photography of Dallas Morning News photographer David Leeson, who acted as co-executive producer of the television program."

Others honored with 2004 national Murrow Awards include: ABC's World News Tonight, CBS News, ESPN, National Public Radio and local stations in Denver, Minneapolis and Los Angeles among others.

"The courageous people who worked in a war zone put everything on the line in the name of their job," said Duitch. "They risked their lives for a story, but in the process they learned a lot about themselves, the war in Iraq, the soldiers who fought it, and the people who live there."

RTNDA has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971. The CBS News legend's pursuit of excellence embodies the spirit of the awards that carry his name.

RTNDA will host a gala awards dinner to honor the winners on October 4, 2004, at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in New York. The list of winners is available at: www.rtnda.org/asfi/awards/murrowshow2004.asp.

WFAA-TV is part of Belo Corp., one of the nation's largest media companies with a diversified group of market-leading television, newspaper, cable and interactive media assets. A Fortune 1000 company with approximately 7,900 employees and $1.4 billion in annual revenues, Belo operates news and information franchises in some of America's most dynamic markets and regions, including Texas, the Northwest, the Southwest, Rhode Island and the Mid-Atlantic region. Belo owns 19 television stations (six in the top 15 markets) reaching 13.8 percent of U.S. television households; owns or operates 10 cable news channels; and manages one television station through a local marketing agreement. Belo's daily newspapers include The Dallas Morning News, The Providence Journal, The Press-Enterprise (Riverside, CA) and the Denton Record-Chronicle (Denton, TX). Belo Interactive's new media businesses include more than 30 Web sites, several interactive alliances and a broad range of Internet-based products. Additional information, including earnings releases, is available online at www.belo.com. For more information contact Dave Muscari, Vice President/Strategic Alliances, 214.977.6490.