September 18, 2007

Belo to Establish Endowment in Honor of France A. Cordova

DALLAS -- Belo Corp. announced today that it plans to establish a $50,000 endowment to support the Hays Press-Enterprise Lecture founded by Howard H "Tim" Hays in 1966. The gift is made in honor of France A. Cordova, Ph.D., who served as a member of the Company's Board of Directors from 2003 to 2007.

Dr. Cordova resigned from the Belo Board in July 2007 due to increased time and schedule constraints in her new role as President of Purdue University. Dr. Cordova served as chancellor of the University of California, Riverside (UCR) from 2003 to 2007.

"We greatly regret that France's new position at Purdue occasioned her resignation from the Board of Directors," said Robert W. Decherd, Belo's chairman and chief executive officer. "France made numerous contributions to our Company during her tenure as a director, and her impact on UCR and the Riverside community has been profound. The Board of Directors and Management Committee of Belo are establishing this endowment as a way of recognizing France's many contributions to UCR and Riverside, as well as to note the importance of the Hays Press-Enterprise Lecture Series in an ever-changing media environment."

The Hays Press-Enterprise Lecture Series was initiated by Tim Hays, publisher and editor of The Press-Enterprise for more than four decades, in cooperation with UCR. The Lecture Series has long been recognized as an important forum for bringing national attention to relevant media issues. Since its founding in 1966, the Lecture has been delivered 39 times by leading journalists and commentators, a list of whom can be found below. Belo acquired The Press-Enterprise from the Hays family in 1996 and has invested heavily in the newspaper since then.

About Belo
Belo Corp. is one of the nation's largest media companies with a diversified group of market-leading television, newspaper, cable and interactive media assets. A Fortune 1000 company with 7,000 employees and $1.6 billion in annual revenues, Belo operates in some of America's most dynamic markets in Texas, the Northwest, the Southwest, the Mid-Atlantic and Rhode Island. Belo owns 20 television stations, six of which are in the 15 largest U.S. broadcast markets. The Company also owns or operates six cable news stations and manages one television station through a local marketing agreement. Belo's daily newspapers are The Dallas Morning News, TheProvidence Journal, The Press-Enterprise (Riverside, CA) and the Denton Record-Chronicle (Denton, TX). The Company also publishes specialty publications targeting young adults, and the fast-growing Hispanic market, including Quick and Al Dia in Dallas/Fort Worth, and El D and La Prensa in Riverside. Belo operates more than 30 Web sites associated with its operating companies. Additional information is available at or by contacting Paul Fry, vice president/Investor Relations & Corporate Communications, at 214-977-6835.

Hays Press-Enterprise Lectures, 1966-2006
2006 Karen Elliott House, senior vice president, Dow Jones & Company
2004 Tom Curley, president and chief executive officer, The Associated Press
2002 Gail Collins, editorial page editor, The New York Times
2001 Bill Kovach, chairman, Committee of Concerned Journalists
2000 Clarence Page, columnist, Chicago Tribune
1999 Gregory Favre, vice president, news, The McClatchy Company
1998 Tom Winship, former editor, The Boston Globe
1997 Benjamin C. Bradlee, vice president at-large, The Washington Post
1996 Gene Roberts, managing editor, The New York Times
1995 William F. Woo, editor, St. Louis Post-Dispatch
1994 Tom Johnson, president, Cable News Network
1993 C. Shelby Coffey III, editor and executive vice president, Los Angeles Times
1992 Geneva Overholser, editor, The Des Moines Register
1991 David Broder, political correspondent and columnist, The Washington Post
1990 Everette E. Dennis, executive director, the Gannett Center for Media Studies
1989 James K. Batten, president/chief executive officer, Knight Ridder Inc.
1988 C.K. McClatchy, editor and chairman, McClatchy Newspapers
1987 Vermont Royster, editor emeritus, The Wall Street Journal
1986 Donald Trelford, editor, The Observer of London
1985 Louis D. Boccardi, president/general manager, The Associated Press
1984 Donald E. Graham, publisher, The Washington Post
1983 Eugene C. Patterson, editor and president, St. Petersberg Times
1982 Cushrow R. Irani, managing director, The Statesman newspapers
1981 Richard S. Salant, vice chairman, NBC
1980 Norman E. Isaacs, chairman, National News Council
1979 John Hughes, editor, The Christian Science Monitor
1978 George F. Will, syndicated columnist
1977 Richard C. Wald, president, NBC News
1976 Warren H. Phillips, president, Dow Jones & Company
1975 James Reston, columnist, The New York Times
1974 Eli Able, dean, Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism
1973 Katherine Graham, president, The Washington Post Company
1972 Tom Wicker, associate editor and columnist, The New York Times
1971 Howard K. Smith, ABC News commentator
1970 Osborn Elliott, editor-in-chief, Newsweek
1969 Dennis Hamilton, editor-in-chief and chief executive, Times Newspapers Limited, London
1968 Wes Gallagher, general manager, The Associated Press
1967 John B. Oakes, editorial page editor, The New York Times
1966 Louis M. Lyons, retired curator, Nieman Foundation of Harvard University