September 20, 2007

KENS 5 Nominated for 16 Emmy Awards

KENS 5 has been nominated for a record 16 awards for excellence in broadcasting -- including Overall News Excellence, Best Breaking News coverage, Best Investigative Reporter, Best Weather Anchor and more -- in the National Television Academy's 2007 Emmy Awards, Lone Star Chapter.

"I am very pleased with this station's accomplishments in journalism," said KENS President and General Manager Bob McGann. "Our ongoing mission is to provide this community with the very highest standards in news coverage every single day. This recognition for these prestigious awards is really an exceptional achievement."

"The KENS 5 news team is dedicated to serving our viewers the very best in news coverage, investigative journalism, weather and information," said KENS 5 Executive News Director Kurt Davis. "KENS 5 is South Texas' news leader, and we continue to strive for excellence every day in keeping this community informed."

KENS 5 Eyewitness News was nominated for Overall News Excellence, as well as for Best Breaking News coverage for "Dangling Driver," and Best Continuing Coverage No Time Limit for "Mount Helotes is Burning."

Longtime KENS 5 anchorman Chris Marrou won the nod in the category of Texas Heritage News Single Story/Series for his report on "Texas Bigfoot," along with producer LaQunta Dixon and photographer/editor Wes Sewell.

For overall excellence in weathercasting, KENS 5 Meteorologist Paul Mireles was nominated for "Best On-Camera Talent Anchor - Weather.

And for overall excellence in investigative journalism, KENS 5's anchor/reporter Ross Palombo was nominated for Best On-Camera Talent Reporter - Investigative.

Polombo was also selected for Best Business/Consumer - News Single Story for "Killer in the Kitchen," along with photographers Kevin Jackson and Michael Humphries.

KENS 5 won 2 nominations in the category of "Best Environment" story. Investigative Reporter Barry Davis, along with Humphries, was nominated for "E-Waste Worries." And Meteorologist Bill Taylor was nominated for "Project Bat," along with Jackson and editor Larry Burns.

KENS 5 won another 2 nominations in the category of Best Specialty Assignment Report News Single Story. Anchor/investigative reporter Vicki Buffolino was chosen for "Cutting Club," along with photographer Kevin Jackson. And reporter Marvin Hurst, along with photographer/editor Dario Ramos, were named for their work on "Faces of Murder."

And KENS 5 photographers won 2 more nominations for Best Photographer News No Time Limit Michael Humphries for "Persistence of Vision," and Larry Burns for "Through the Looking Glass."

KENS 5's Patricia Norman was nominated for Best Editor News No Time Limit for her work on "Taking on Taggers."

Kristina Guerrero, host of KENS 5's "Great Day S.A.," picked up the nomination for Best Public/Current/Community Affairs Feature/Segment for "San Antonio Heart Gallery" along with photographer Dillon Emery.

And KENS 5 Promotions writer/producer Matthew Cockrell was nominated for Best Promotion Program - Sports for "Game On" along with editor Robert Sico and graphic artist Kyle Schaub Contreras.

For more information contact Allen Lansing, Director of Creative Services, at 210-377-8734.