July 28, 2008

Memorial Honoring Four Local TV Journalists Unveiled

PHOENIX -- On Sunday, July 27, 2008 a memorial honoring Scott Bowerbank, Jim Cox, Richard Krolak and Craig D. Smith was unveiled at Steele Indian School Park. These journalists lost their lives on July 27, 2007 at approximately 12:46 p.m. when the KTVK-TV and KNXV-TV news helicopters collided over the park.

In a private ceremony on the one year anniversary of the crash, Phoenix Mayor Phil Gordon, Phoenix Fire Chief Bob Khan and Phoenix Police Chief Jack Harris along with family, friends and colleagues gathered to remember these four men and open the memorial to the public.

The memorial was designed and approved by the City of Phoenix Parks and Recreation Board's Steele Indian School Park Memorial Ad-Hoc Committee. Both KTVK and KNXV were represented on the committee and worked closely together on the memorial and ceremony. PFG Construction, a local company that donated their services, began building the memorial on the site of the crash in May 2008.

The memorial includes a plaque honoring each of the men and a center plaque inscribed with the "High Flight" poem by Pilot Officer John Gillespie Magee, Jr. A tree in each person's memory was also planted at the site. KTVK's parent company, Belo Corp. and KNXV's parent company, E.W. Scripps each made a generous contribution through their foundations.

About KTVK
KTVK, a strong independent television station and its Phoenix sister station, KASW are part of Belo Corp. and operate in the 12th largest DMA. KTVK produces 52 hours of local news per week, more local news than most broadcast television stations in the U.S. KTVK's website, azfamily.com is the number one television station website in Arizona. One of the first 40 television stations to convert to high definition, KTVK leads the way in innovation, community involvement and local news delivered by the most popular on-air talent in the market. Its audience considers the station to be the community-minded station that most reflects the spirit of Arizona and its people. For more information, contact:
Teri Lane, Marketing Director, 602.207.3423
Blanca Esparza, Community Relations Manager, 602.207.3331

About Belo Corp.
Belo Corp. is one of the nation's largest pure-play, publicly-traded television companies, with annual revenue of approximately $775 million. The Company owns and operates 20 television stations reaching more than 14 percent of U.S. television households, including ABC, CBS, NBC, FOX, CW and MyNetwork TV affiliates, and their associated Web sites, in 15 highly-attractive markets across the United States. Belo stations consistently deliver distinguished journalism for which they have received significant industry recognition including nine Alfred I. duPont-Columbia University Silver Baton Awards; nine George Foster Peabody Awards; and 23 national Edward R. Murrow Awards all since 2000, and in each case more than any other commercial station group in the nation. Nearly all Belo stations rank first or second in their local market. Belo owns stations in seven of the top 25 markets in the nation, with six stations located in the fast-growing, top-14 markets of Dallas/Fort Worth, Houston, Seattle/Tacoma and Phoenix. Additionally, the Company has created regional cable news channels in Texas and the Northwest increasing its impact in those regions. Additional information is available at www.belo.com or by contacting Paul Fry, vice president/Investor Relations & Corporate Communications, at 214-977-6835.