October 22, 2008

WFAA-TV/DT Wins More Lone Star Emmy Awards in News, Programming and Other Categories Than Any Local Television Station in Texas

Dallas, Texas -- WFAA was honored with a series of prestigious Lone Star Emmy Awards in news, programming and other categories October 18, when the Lone Star Chapter of the National Television Academy (NTA) honored stations and individuals at a gala event at the Verizon Wireless Theater in Houston.

The statewide Chapter serves all 19 television markets in Texas, and includes members from television-related fields including: news and non-news broadcasting; production; post-production; education; advertising; and public relations.

WFAA became the first television station in Texas honored for overall excellence at the Lone Star Chapter's inaugural awards ceremony in 2003. Since then the station has been recognized with more Lone Star Emmys than any news station in Texas including multiple awards for station and news excellence.

The 2008 Emmy Awards were presented to WFAA in the following categories:

NEWS EXCELLENCE: Michael Valentine, News Director

NEWS SPECIAL: The Cost Of War, Meagan Harris, Producer and Jerry Cadigan, Director

GENERAL ASSIGNMENT REPORT (WITHIN 24 HOURS): Give Back Their Honor, Anthony Oliveira, Photojournalist and Brad Hawkins, Reporter

SPOT NEWS: All of a Sudden, Douglas Burgess, Photojournalist, and
Michael Coscia, Photojournalist

TEAM COVERAGE: Downtown Explosion, News 8 at 5 p.m. Michael Valentine, News Director, Chris Mathis, Photojournalist and Chris Heinbaugh, Reporter

CONTINUING COVERAGE (NO TIME LIMIT): A Hope of Hearing, Janet St. James, Reporter, John Lane, Photojournalist and Douglas Burgess, Photojournalist

Mike Castellucci, Reporter and Douglas Burgess, Photojournalist

David Schechter, Reporter and Greg T. Johnson, Photojournalist

ARTS/ENTERTAINMENT (PROGRAM FEATURE-SEGMENT): The Gordon Keith Show, Peter Fonda Interview and Auction, Gordon Keith, Executive Producer-Host

BUSINESS/CONSUMER (NEWS SERIES): Crazy Water, Janet St. James, Reporter and Greg T. Johnson, Producer

David Schechter, Reporter and Douglas Burgess, Photojournalist/Editor

Joe Trahan, Reporter, Arnold Payne III, Photojournalist and
Alan McKenzie, Photojournalist

HUMAN INTEREST - NEWS SINGLE STORY / SERIES / FEATURE: Driving Mr. Herrin, Gary Reaves, Reporter, Arnold Payne III, Photojournalist and
Greg T. Johnson, Photojournalist

POLITICS/GOVERNMENT - NEWS SINGLE STORY/FEATURE: A Sweet Deal, David Schechter, Reporter and Douglas Burgess, Photojournalist

WEATHER-NEWS WEATHERCAST: Pete Delkus, Chief Meteorologist

SPECIAL EVENT COVERAGE (OTHER THAN NEWS OR SPORTS): Big D NYE, Meagan Harris, Producer, Sean Hamilton, Executive Producer, Art MacLaren, Director, Pete Delkus, Host and Dale Hansen, Host

COMMERCIAL-SINGLE SPOT/CAMPAIGN: Project Green, Ronda Gibbons, Writer-Producer, Monica Bradshaw, Graphic Designer, Wally Wawro, Audio Specialist and Ronny Gordon, Editor

DIRECTOR-LIVE OR LIVE-TO-TAPE: The Gordon Keith Show, Marc Kravitz, Producer-Director

EDITOR-NEWS (WITHIN 24 HOURS): One Last Edit, David Carter, Editor

EDITOR-NEWS (NO TIME LIMIT): Electronic Images (Cleverly) Arranged For Fun (and Profit), Douglas Burgess, Photojournalist/ Editor

NEWS PRODUCER: Downtown Explosions Coverage, Sandra Turner, Producer

ON-CAMERA TALENT (ANCHOR-WEATHER): Pete Delkus, Chief Meteorologist

ON-CAMERA TALENT (ANCHOR-SPORTS): Dale Hansen, Sports Anchor

ON-CAMERA TALENT (PROGRAM HOST/MODERATOR): The Gordon Keith Show, Gordon Keith, Executive Producer/Host

ON-CAMERA TALENT (REPORTER-SPORTS): Trahan's Take, Joe Trahan, Sports Reporter

PHOTOGRAPHER (NEWS-WITHIN 24 HOURS): One More Shot, David Carter, Photojournalist

PHOTOGRAPHER-SPORTS (SINGLE CAMERA): Suitable For Framing, Arnold Payne III, Photojournalist

Before the charter of the Lone Star Chapter, television professionals in Texas that wanted to be members of the NTA and submit entries for Emmy Awards were divided by television market among regional chapters in three states: Colorado, Florida and Arizona. This meant, for example, that people in the Dallas/Fort Worth market had to join Colorado's Heartland Chapter and those in Houston had to join Miami's Sun Coast Chapter. The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences was founded in 1957. It is dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the distinguished Emmy Award.

WFAA-TV is part of Belo Corp., one of the nation's largest pure-play publicly-traded television companies, with annual revenue of approximately $775 million. The Company owns and operates 20 television stations reaching more than 14 percent of U.S. television households, including ABC, CBS, NBC, FOX, CW and MyNetwork TV affiliates, and their associated Web sites, in 15 highly-attractive markets across the United States. Belo stations consistently deliver distinguished journalism for which they have received significant industry recognition including nine Alfred I. duPont-Columbia University Silver Baton Awards; nine George Foster Peabody Awards; and 23 national Edward R. Murrow Awards all since 2000, and in each case more than any other commercial station group in the nation. Nearly all Belo stations rank first or second in their local market. Belo owns stations in seven of the top 25 markets in the nation, with six stations located in the fast-growing, top-14 markets of Dallas/Fort Worth, Houston, Seattle/Tacoma and Phoenix. Additionally, the Company has created regional cable news channels in Texas and the Northwest increasing its impact in those regions. Additional information is available at www.belo.com or by contacting Paul Fry, vice president/Investor Relations & Corporate Communications, at 214-977-6835.