May 12, 2009

Belo Holds Annual Meeting of Shareholders

Re-Elects Three Members to its Board of Directors

DALLAS, TX - Belo Corp. (NYSE: BLC), one of the nation's largest pure-play, publicly-traded television companies, held its Annual Meeting of Shareholders this morning where three Class II directors were re-elected: Henry P. Becton, Jr., director since May 1997; James M. Moroney III, director since February 2008; and Lloyd D. Ward, director since July 2001. These Class II directors are eligible to serve a three-year term until the 2012 annual meeting.

In addition, shareholders approved Belo's Amended and Restated 2004 Executive Compensation Plan and ratified the appointment of Ernst & Young LLP as its independent registered public accounting firm. Shareholders also voted against a proposal relating to the repeal of the Company's classified board.

A replay of the Webcast of the Annual Meeting of Shareholders can be found at the Company's Web site at

About Belo Corp.
Belo Corp. (BLC) is one of the nation's largest pure-play, publicly-traded television companies, with 2008 annual revenue of $733 million. The Company owns and operates 20 television stations (nine in the top 25 markets) and their associated Web sites. Belo stations, which include affiliations with ABC, CBS, NBC, FOX, CW and MyNetwork TV, reach more than 14 percent of U.S. television households in 15 highly-attractive markets. A Belo station ranks first or second in nearly all of their local markets. Additional information is available at or by contacting Paul Fry, vice president/Investor Relations & Corporate Communications, at 214-977-6835.