May 11, 2010

Belo Holds Annual Meeting of Shareholders

Re-Elects Four Members to its Board of Directors

DALLAS, TX - Belo Corp. (NYSE: BLC), one of the nation's largest pure-play, publicly-traded television companies, held its Annual Meeting of Shareholders this morning where four Class III directors were re-elected: Judith L Craven, director since December 1992, Dealey D. Herndon, director since May 1986, Wayne R. Sanders, director since May 2003 and McHenry T. Tichenor, Jr., director since August 2009. These Class III directors are eligible to serve a three-year term until the 2013 annual meeting.

In addition, shareholders ratified the appointment of Ernst & Young LLP as its independent registered public accounting firm. Shareholders also voted against a proposal relating to the repeal of the Company's classified board.

A replay of the Webcast of the Annual Meeting of Shareholders can be found at the Company's Web site at

About Belo Corp.
Belo Corp. (BLC), one of the nation's largest pure-play, publicly-traded television companies, owns and operates 20 television stations (nine in the top 25 markets) and their associated Web sites. Belo stations, which include affiliations with ABC, CBS, NBC, FOX, CW and MyNetwork TV, reach more than 14 percent of U.S. television households in 15 highly- attractive markets. Belo stations rank first or second in nearly all of their local markets. Additional information is available at or by contacting Paul Fry, vice president/Investor Relations & Treasury Operations, at 214-977-6835.