April 25, 2011

KHOU 11 honored with third straight 'Overall Excellence' Murrow Award

Station wins three Regional Murrows and two Headliners Foundation of Texas Awards

HOUSTON - The Radio Television Digital News Association has once again recognized KHOU 11 with the Edward R. Murrow Award for Overall Excellence in the Texas-Oklahoma Region. This is the third consecutive year for KHOU to receive this distinction, having gone on to win the National Edward R. Murrow in this category in 2010.

"The Murrow Award for Overall Excellence recognizes the talent of each individual at KHOU," said Susan McEldoon, KHOU 11 President and General Manager. "To win three years in a row truly highlights the exemplary standard of news our team upholds day after day."

In all, KHOU won three Regional Murrow Awards. Photojournalist Todd Rogenthien was honored for the second consecutive year in the category of Best Use of Video, and the award for Best Series went to reporter Jeremy Rogalski, photojournalist Keith Tomshe and executive producer David Raziq for the series "Drowning in Neglect."

The Headliners Foundation of Texas also recently announced winners of its Charles E. Green Awards for excellence in Journalism, naming KHOU's Kevin Reece as Best Reporter and presenting KHOU.com with the award for Best Online/Special Content for its digital coverage of the I-Team investigation surrounding radiation in the Houston water supply.

The Headliners Foundation works in partnership with the Texas Associated Press Broadcasters (TAPB). Each year the TAPB recognizes excellence and achievement in journalism with awards in various categories. In March, KHOU received 20 TAPB Awards, eight of which were Division winners that went on to compete for the Headliners Foundation distinction.

"The commitment to journalism runs deep throughout the newsroom on air and online," said Philip Bruce, KHOU 11 Executive News Director. "It is humbling to be honored by organizations so respected in our industry."

A breakdown of recent KHOU 11 awards is as follows:

Edward R. Murrow Awards Region 6:

Headliners Foundation of Texas Charles E. Green Awards:

Texas Associated Press Broadcasters Division 1 Winners:

KHOU 11 is part of Belo Corp. (BLC), one of the nation's largest pure-play, publicly-traded television companies, that owns and operates 20 television stations (nine in the top 25 markets) and their associated Web sites. Belo stations, which include affiliations with ABC, CBS, NBC, FOX, CW and MyNetwork TV, reach more than 14 percent of U.S. television households in 15 highly-attractive markets. Belo stations rank first or second in nearly all of their local markets. Additional information is available at www.belo.com , www.khou.com or by contacting Lisa Shumate, Director of Programming and Marketing, KHOU-TV at 713-521-4335.