February 27, 2012

Dallas Morning News' Jim Moroney Named 2011 Mayborn Award Winner

The Frank W. Mayborn Award for Community Leadership was awarded to Jim Moroney, Publisher of The Dallas Morning News, by the Texas Daily Newspaper Association during the association's Annual Meeting in Dallas.

Moroney, the Morning News publisher and chief executive officer, was honored for his commitment to serving the Dallas community and Texas newspapers.

As a leader in Dallas and among Texas newspapers, Jim Moroney exemplifies the ideals that made Frank W. Mayborn such a memorable figure in Texas newspaper history, said TDNA treasurer Brenda Miller-Fergersen in announcing the award.

Moroney serves on the boards of the Cistercian Preparatory School in Dallas, the State Fair of Texas and the Advisory Board of the College of Communications at the University of Texas. He is also involved with the Dallas Foundation, The Bishop's Financial Council of the Catholic Diocese of Dallas, the Executive Committee of the Board of the Newspaper Association of America, where he's incoming chairman, and the American Press Institute.

Anyone who knows Jim or who has served on a board with him knows that he isn't just a board member in name only, Miller-Fergersen said. He takes being a board member seriously and tries to make a real difference.

Moroney also has been a leader in the newspaper industry in Texas and nationally, speaking tirelessly to industry and community groups about the importance and value of newspapers. He's a huge advocate for digital innovation and innovation in general, while realizing the value and importance of the core product.

Mrs. Sue Mayborn, Publisher of the Temple Daily Telegram and Killeen Daily Herald, established the Mayborn award in 1992 to honor the commendable leadership and service demonstrated by her late husband Frank W. Mayborn. It honors other newspaper men and women who have a firm commitment to community service, and who are devoting the same zeal to that cause as Mayborn did during his long career.

One of the areas in which Mayborn was most active was in service to education. It is fitting that the recipient of the Mayborn Award not only will be recognized publicly by his peers, but also by a scholarship in his/her honor which will be presented to an outstanding senior journalism student at a Texas college or university.

Source: Texas Daily Newspaper Association